http://jamallahbergmansstoriesoflove.weebly.com/2/post/2013/03/paulette-mahurin-is-talking-with-us-today.html

Picture

Today I have the amazing Paulette Mahurin with me today talking about herself as well as getting a chance to learn more about her book “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap”First let me say thank you so much, Jamallah, for having me over to your site. I’m very grateful for this opportunity to get to know and be interviewed by you.

Before we start talking about your book, why don’t you tell everybody a little bit about yourself? I am a Nurse Practitioner, which in the United States, is like a general practitioner doctor, where I can see patients, diagnose, prescribe medications and treatment plans as fits what is wrong with them. My specialty is Women’s Health. I also do a considerable amount of pro-bono work with women with cancer. When I’m not involved with work or writing, I spend time involved in dog rescue, along with my husband. We’ve been into dog rescue for the past 28 years. We currently have two of our own, Max & Bella, from a kill-shelter.

Besides writing, what other things do you enjoy doing in your spare time? I think I just answered that above.

What is your daily routine as far as when you have an idea for your story?  I usually wake up early, 5:30 to 6:00, feed and take care of the dogs, then begin writing and I stay with the process into the early afternoon. Of late, my writing per se has been on the back burner while I’m busy promoting my current book. I’m very invested in putting in the time for this one because all profits are going to animal rescue.

Where do you get your ideas from? The idea for this book came from a photo, of two women dressed in what looked like the turn of the twentieth century garb, standing very close together, looking worried, it seemed to say ‘lesbian couple afraid of being found out’ and so that’s what I went with, the seed for the story.

Out of all of the stories you’ve written so far, what would be your favorite and why? This one is one that I love but I have also written other stories that I like a lot also, a couple of award winning ones, all with different themes so it’s hard to pick out a favorite. This one, however, holds a strong place in my heart because it’s about bigotry, intolerance and hatred, leveled at innocent people; a lesbian couple, an African American man and a French Jewish man, all who did nothing to deserve the hatred spewed against them. It’s a story of the power of love and friendship also and a metamorphosis of the heart of someone who is willing to open, to something different, without judging it before he finds out for himself how he really feels. In this last character is an awakening, which shows the reader that the heart knows what the mind can never comprehend, of all that is possible.

 FOR THE REST OF THE INTERVIEW PLEASE VISIT: http://jamallahbergmansstoriesoflove.weebly.com/2/post/2013/03/paulette-mahurin-is-talking-with-us-today.html

 


Picture

 

