I recently saw a review by Christoph Fischer (one of my favorite authors of late) of  Ty Patterson’s The Warrior. It interested me and so I read the book. What a great read it was. This is a relatively new author starting out with a breakthrough novel that is a read I really enjoyed and I wanted to share with those of you who are on the lookout for a good thriller, laced with a Bond or Bourne-like protagonist. Below is a brief synopsis, our interview, my review, and what Amazon has to say about the author.

 Synopsis (from Amazon):
Zeb Carter is almost your average Private Military Contractor.When working for a WDE (We Don’t Exist) Agency, Zeb witnesses a gruesome crime in the Congo and tracks the perpetrators down to New York. Only to discover that not only are they protected by the FBI, but also are closely connected to a very high profile politician.Zeb can walk away from his hunt, or pursue with it and put those close to him in the sights of the killers.A thriller that spans Congo and New York, The Warrior is dotted with gritty action, a central character that fuels imagination, and is also about the brotherhood of warriors.The first in the Brotherhood series.

WARRIOR-cover

Interview

You wrote a very interesting, action-packed, story of intrigue. Can you tell us how the original idea came to you?

Hi Paulette, I have always been fascinated by the strong, silent, action figure and I have always felt that books and movies have consigned such figures to the background, i.e. the strong silent guy is the sidekick to the handsome, witty action guy.

When I read about the mass rape in Luvungi , the idea came to me that if this had to be the backdrop to my book, then I would want a dark, brooding, figure and thus The Warrior was born.

There is quite a bit of reconnaissance involved. Did you draw on personal experience or was this from research?

It was mostly from research and some second hand experience. I wanted to make my book as real as possible (don’t we all!), and hence spent hours researching the various locales, events and even transportation infrastructure in those locales.

I have a few friends in the Armed Forces who have spent time in the Congo and their experiences also went into creating the story.

How long did it take you to write this and what did you find to be the most difficult?

It took me about 8 months to write it. I started writing in Dec 2011 and finished the book in September 2012. I then spent a few months editing and published it in Dec.

I work full time and the biggest challenge for me always has been to make time and even more importantly, make energy for writing.

How much read through and editing did you do? Did you have a professional editor help you? If so why? If not why not?

I spent 3 months reading, re-reading and editing and I am sure that still isn’t enough to capture all the gremlins. I did everything myself simply because I wanted this to be my baby, warts and all.

p.s. from Ty: This is something I am likely to change for my next book. I am sure a professional editor will be able to add significant value to my books.

What motivated you to write a main character so bend on getting even? (he reminded me of James Bond and Jason Bourne)

I have lived in countries where those who have no opportunity in life have no hope, those who have suffered, have no recourse because the system is so imbalanced.

And that really is the reason I created Zebadiah Carter, a person who is wired to help, who is naturally inclined to be a ‘Dark Knight’ figure to them.

His mental makeup and unique background are what makes him so determined to even the odds, whatever be the personal price he pays.

Have you ever witnessed the atrocities you write about that occurred in the Congo? When and how did you draw on these?

Yes. I have lived in Asia and in some or many of the countries over there; the system is so imbalanced that the weak just do not have any recourse to justice. It is almost a part of daily life to see and hear about similar atrocities, not necessarily on such a scale, but atrocities nevertheless, that go unheard and unpunished.

Is there anything else you would like to say about your book?

My book is more Skyfall than Rambo. It is not just mindless action, but is about action with a conscience. I hope it will strike a chord in readers and stay in their memories.

Is there anything you would like to say to other indie authors, who have just completed their first book?

Forget those dreams of being an overnight success. Writing is hard, promoting is even harder and there is no short cut to it.  As long as you put in the effort, the results will come.

Anything you want to say to your readers?

Buy my book please 🙂

Is there anything you would like to be asked? What would your answer be?

Aha, this is a tough one.

(from Ty) If I had to write The Warrior again, would I still write it and what would I do differently?

I would still write the book, because I wanted to make that story heard. I would probably go about promoting the book much earlier than its publishing date, because I started promoting it only after publishing and am now playing catch up.

My Review:

In the flavor of Ludlum and Grisham, Ty Patterson, weaves a great tale in The Warrior. Zed Carter is a mercenary who witnesses atrocities in the Congo that drives him to seek justice, a personal revenge he is destined to fulfill. His trek takes him to New York, into corrupt politics and a network of federal agents, a journalist, and an innocent boy and his mother who become pawns to lure him into a trap. Carter is a character that marches to the beat of his own drum, fearless in his efforts, to do right by his own conscious, the reader likes him, is drawn in by him, like we are to Jason Bourne. The action is crisp and fast paced with an intensity that had me glued to the page right up to a surprising end which makes for an overall great read that lingers long after the last page is turned and the book closed.

Ty Patterson

Ty Patterson(1)

Ty discovered reading at an early age and the backs of cereal cartons were frequently part of his reading diet when nothing else was at hand.

Reading has held him in thrall ever since. Reading takes him to multi textured worlds and fills his world with visual imagery; all fuelled just by the power of the black word on a white page.

He uses his life experiences, of living in a couple of continents, of selling tea to street side stalls, to infuse his writing. And to take his readers on the same flights of visual imagination that his favourite authors take him on.

Ty is privileged that his wife and son shape their lives to accommodate his writing. They also humour his ridiculous belief that he is in charge.
Author Links:

Email: ty@pattersonty.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/typatterson67
Blog: http://pattersonty.wordpress.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTyPatterson

Book Links:

http://amzn.to/14TGB5m
http://amzn.to/YdAftk
http://bit.ly/YoKj4M
http://bit.ly/XSee1r

