BOOKfront cover

Synopsis:

The Bridge of Deaths is based on the events surrounding a 1939 Plane crash in Denmark. My grandfather Cesar Agustin Castillo was the first body removed from the crash. The book explores through fictional characters the events surrounding the crash and how the men involved; both those who died and others may not have really been who they seemed.

In an era rife with intrigue the Bridge of Deaths takes the reader through some very well-known and some likely to be unknown incidents in a pre-World War II world.

The Bridge of Deaths can appeal to a wide range of readers about 17 years old and older. It is the culmination of almost 20 years of research and perseverance.

~ * ~  ~ * ~   ~*~

I am thrilled to have M. C. V.  Egan over here today for an interview and to post my review of her great book, one of my favorites of 2012.  Thank you so much for coming here today.

PROMO PIC M.C.V. Egan

Thank you Paulette, I am honored to be your guest as I am a very big fan of your work.

1)   The Bridge of Deaths involved a mind boggling amount of research, an extremely impressive amount, how did you deal with this? How did you start, keep track, pull strings and piece it all together?

Paulette I love the words ‘mind boggling’! It did take almost 20 years so it did not feel overwhelming. Each piece was more interesting than the previous one filling in data to form a clearer picture.

I visited archives where little by little I met people and they in turn recommended others or recommended other ways to research.

I must say that sometimes it was just serendipitous and I do tend to be a lucky person.

I am OLD SCHOOL with files, so I have a nice four drawer file cabinet holding many files carefully labeled.

Piecing it together was a matter of compartmentalizing and dividing the information the plane; the people; the corpses; the history.

2)   How did you keep track of the scenes in your book with the amount of detail work it involved? Did you have a lot of fit it here and change it or did it all flow easily to begin with?

I wanted a sense of disorganized order, the characters needed to find    things out in a way that made them piece it together or they would be superfluous.

That part was hard, because I wanted it messy, but I did not want to lose the reader. So I had Maggie sound confused and ask Catalina to organize it. I have had a few comments from readers that stated that helped them.  I hope I got the timing right.

All reports are mixed and incomplete, even the so-called final report, In January of 1940 which the engineers to sign would not sign. I feel very strongly that they were ethical men and stuck to their principles.

3)   The subject matter of the book involves the death of your grandfather, a very prestigious influential man for his time. How did it feel to you, his granddaughter to write about him?

In a word it would be confusing. The long version is as complicated as any personal relationship. There is so much about him that I admire and I would have liked to have known him.

That being said the mentality of what is referred to as “the greatest generation” and today’s is significantly different.  Also my mother was not thrilled at first that I rattled the skeletons in the family closet, so it has been a journey of mixed feelings about my grandfather. That being said, I am genetically super grateful to be his descendant!

4)   How was it for you as the author as the facts, some horrifying in detail, came to be known?

I was very much an investigator and detached as I found them, but late at night lying in bed, the reality of certain details did haunt me a little.

5)   There are some beautiful love and friendship connections in your story. Were any of them a mirror of your life?

I am very blessed to have forged lovely relationships. I am more like the Europeans; I do not become friends as easily as people seem to in this hemisphere.

When I was younger and more carefree, I did become BFFs in a New York second, but today I move slowly and treasure those who I forge real friendships with, and thanks for noticing!

6)   You get into some interesting metaphysical aspects in the writing along with hypnotherapy. What made you take this approach?

There is a “real Bill” the regressions are real and the individual did not have access to detailed information. Also the last regression had a four year gap between the first four and he was unable to ‘go to’ the crash, but went to mundane moments where he had taken me before with his regressions, so it gave me certain certitude that it is indeed very real.

7)   The fascinating subject of past life regression also factored into your story. Do you have any personal experience with this or was it written from research on the subject only.

I had my first past life regression in 1991, I was 32 years old and it changed my life. I have since had several, some in groups some in private. I did read many books on the subject before I did, I became curious because I started having a re-occurring dream in Medieval times and there was a very strange personal angle that impacted me deeply and made me most curious.

In a way I guess you could say that Bills nightmares were my own, well with no bedwetting and in medieval times!

8)   What do you think your Grandfather would say were he to have read your book?

Secrets should remain SECRETS!

9)   If you could be asked one thing about this story what would you want it to be? What’s your answer?

How on earth did you find a Lockheed Electra 10A? Through fabulous men in Archives and museums, most particularly through Mr. R.E.G. Davies * from the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum and thanks to the love of aircraft by Mr. Bill Taylor at The New England Air Museum, Windsor Locks, CT.

Men who inspired me and made me know that no matter how old, life can always be so exciting.

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R._E._G._Davies

His 25th book – and swan song – Airlines of the Jet Age: A History (for the Smithsonian Institution Scholarly Press) was published in July 2011, just before he died.

After his long career Ron Davies returned to England to live in his Hertfordshire home with his wife, Marjorie, and be near his two daughters and two grandsons. As well as his lifelong interest in aviation, Ron enjoyed traditional jazz, wrote one novel, and had hoped to write a book about his home town of Shaftesbury during his retirement. (He retired at the age of 90)

*William E. Taylor (http://www.obitsforlife.com/obituary/445289/Taylor-William.php)

Date of Birth:

Friday, October 17th, 1919

Date of Death:

Saturday, December 24th, 2011

William Ellsworth Taylor, 92, of Manchester, died peacefully on Christmas Eve surrounded by family. Born in Brainerd, MN on October 17, 1919, he was the son of the late Asher and Eleanor (Aske) Taylor; he later moved to St. Paul, MN. During WWII, Bill was a 1st Lieutenant, serving in the Aleutians, France and Germany with the 63rd Infantry Division where he received the Purple Heart, Combat Infantry Badge and other medals. Decades after the war, he was still called “Lieutenant” by the men who served under him. After the war, Bill earned a degree in Aeronautical Engineering from University of Minnesota, married, and moved to CT where he worked at United Technologies Research Lab for 30 years. Aviation was a lifelong passion and after retirement, he became a volunteer at New England Air Museum. His proudest achievement was the 15 year restoration of the Lockheed Electra 10-A which was completed and dedicated in April. He continued to volunteer at the museum until his death.

~ * ~  ~ * ~   ~*~

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

M. C. V. Egan is the chosen pen name for Maria Catalina Egan, author of The Bridge of Deaths. Originally from Mexico City, Mexico; M.C.V. Egan has lived in various parts of the USA as well as France and Sweden. She is fluent in four languages; Spanish, French, Swedish and English.

Maria Catalina Egan is married and has one son, who together with their five pound Chihuahua make her feel like a fulltime mother.   Although she would not call herself an Astrologer she has taken many classes and taught a few beginner classes in Astrology. This is one of her many past times when she is not writing or researching.

She is currently working with Jolie DeMarco on a novel called 4covert2overt in 33 Days.

My FIVE star review:

M.C.V. Egan’s The Bridge of Death is quite an undertaking of intelligent research, fiction, metaphysics, and relationship story telling wrapped into the very clever umbrella of detective work. The story of Bill and Maggie interconnecting with Catalina via e-mails and skype is very clever combined with the historical back drop of intrigue and mystery and to have the real story, the mystery unfold through psychics as confirmed in a hypnotherapists office is very intriguing. Having done graduate work at UCLA and therefore gained an understanding of the value and tediousness of time and labor involved in research, I give kudos to Egan for this effort, where there is certainly no lack. That it is based on a real history, real deaths, real autopsy reports makes for a fascinating read.

BOOK FRONT AND BACK(1)

LINKS

AUTHOR WEBPAGE

http://www.thebridgeofdeaths.com

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-bridge-of-deaths-m-c-v-egan/1103737050?ean=9781463410391

AMAZON UK

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Bridge-of-Deaths-ebook/dp/B00AJIHB1E/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1362330996&sr=1-1

AMAZON KINDLE

http://www.amazon.com/The-Bridge-of-Deaths-ebook/dp/B0057GG3T4/ref=tmm_kin_title_0

AMAZON Paperback

http://www.amazon.com/The-Bridge-Deaths-M-Egan/dp/1463410417

FACEBOOK

https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Bridge-of-Deaths/130675087014521#!/pages/The-Bridge-of-Deaths/130675087014521

BLOGS

http://thebridgeofdeaths.tumblr.com/

http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

